On Air Now

The Eleven to Two Show

11:00am - 2:00pm

  • 045 901 490
  • 0833 979797

Now Playing

24 Elite Boxing Champions Crowned At The National Stadium.

Stock Image: Pixabay

St. Michael's Athy Brandon McCarthy claimed the 63.5kg title.

24 Elite boxing champions were crowned at the National Stadium last night, include St. Michael's, Athy boxer, Brandon McCarthy.

He won a unanimous decision against Jack McGivern of St.Georges, Antrim, at 63.5kg.

Enniskerry BC's Daina Moorehouse got the 5-0 win over  Niamh Early of Ryston in a very tough contest.

This is the first time the Elite competition has been staged since November, 2019.

Among the more remarkable results was an Elite title for Olympian, 36 year old Darren O'Neill.

He hasn't boxed, competitively, in four years, and claimed his 8th Elite title when he decided to enter after just one training session.

No spectators were present to see the contest, but they were streamed and broadcast by TG4.

The Irish Athletic Boxing Association has confirmed that St.Brigids, Edenderry fighter, Sara Hagightat-Jo won the Best Female Boxer Award and Adam Hession, of Monivea, Galway, won the Best Male Boxer Award.

Full list of Elite champions:

48KG Ricky Nesbitt W/O

54KG Jake Rapple W/O

60KG Amy Broadhurst W/O

75KG Aoife O’Rourke W/O

75KG Gabriel Dossen (Olympic, Galway) beat Sean Donaghy (St.Canices, Derry) 5-0

63KG Eve Woods (Corinthians, Dublin) beat Gillian Duffy (St.Marys, Dublin) 5-0

66KG Kaci Rock (Enniskerry, Wicklow) beat Kiesha Attwell (Tobair Pheadair, Galway) RSC3

 81KG Bethany Doocey(Castlebar, Mayo) beat Nel Fox (Rathkeale, Limerick) 5-0

86KG Darren O’Neill (Paulstown, Kilkenny beat Faolain Rahill (DCU, Dublin) 5-0

92KG Jack Marley (Monkstown, Dublin) beat Marcin Skalski (Athlone, Westmeath) 5-0

92+KG Martin Keenan (Rathkeale, Limerick) beat Thomas Maughan (Cavan B.C) 3-2

48KG Shannon Sweeney (St. Annes Westport) beat Carol Coughlin (Monkstown, Dublin) 5-0

51KG Paddy McShane (Letterkenny, Dgl) beat Paudraic Downey (St.John Bosco, Antrim) 3-2

50KG Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata, Antrim) beat Nicole Clyde (Antrim B.C) 5-0

52KG Daina Moorehouse(Enniskerry, Wklw) beat Niamh Early (Ryston, Kildare) 5-0

57KG Adam Hession (Monivea, Galway) beat Sean Purcell (Saviours Crystal, Wtrfrd) 5-0

54KG Sara Hagightat-Jo (St.Brigids, Edenderry, Offaly) beat Niamh Fay (Ballyboughal, Dublin) 3-2

60KG John Paul Hale (Star, Antrim) ​​beat Dominic Bradley (Emerald, Antrim) 5-0

57KG Jennifer Lehane (DCU, Dublin) ​beat Kellie McLoughlin(Drimnagh, Dublin) 5-0

63.5KG Brandon McCarthy (Athy, Kildare) ​beat Jack McGivern (St.Georges, Antrim) 5-0

67KG Eugene McKeever (Holy Family, Lth) beat Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy, Westmeath) 4-1

70KG Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa, Louth) beat Lisa O’Rourke (Castlerea, Roscommon) 5-0

71KG Kieran Molloy (Oughterard, Galway)​ beat Luke Maguire (Esker, Dublin) 5-0

80KG Kelyn Cassidy (Savrs Crystl, Wtfrd) beat Tommy Hyde (St.Michaels Athy, Kildare) RSC1

More from Sports News

Stay tuned to Kfm!

Get the Kfm Apps for you phone, tablet or smart speaker...

Kfm Kildare Weather

  • Tue

    Low-level cloud


  • Wed

    Heavy Rain


  • Thu

    Light rain


  • Fri

    Heavy Rain


  • Sat

    Sunny intervals