On Air Now

Sunday Breakfast

7:00am - 11:00am

  • 045 901 490
  • 0833-979797

Now Playing

Sinn Fein Calls for Recount In Newbridge LEA After Narrow Elimination

The count is now underway.

A recount is currently underway at the Punchestown Count Centre for the Newbridge Local Electoral Area. 
After Count 10, James Stokes of Sinn Fein was eliminated with 1,100 votes, just 1 vote behind Melissa Byrne of Aontu and 61 votes behind Independent Tom McDonnell.
As a result, Sinn Fein called for a recount, which was accepted by Kildare County Council and that count is now underway.
Tracey O’Dwyer of Fine Gael topped the poll, while Fine Gael's Peggy O’Dwyer also got elected on the first count.
Chris Pender of the Social Democrats was elected on Count 6 and it’s expected Noel Heavey and Rob Power of Fianna Fáil will also retain their seats.
Therefore it’s between Stokes, McDonnell and Byrne for the 6th and final seat in Newbridge.
Earlier today, there was a recount in the Kildare LEA, as requested by Paddy Curran of Fine Gael, but it made no difference.
The 5 elected Councillors are Suzanne Doyle and Brian O’Loughlin of Fianna Fáil, Kevin Duffy of Fine Gael, Shonagh Ni Raghallaigh of Sinn Fein and Pat Balfe of the Social Democrats. 
The 6 other LEAs are all confirmed and complete and the information is available here.

More from Local News

Stay tuned to Kfm!

Get the Kfm Apps for you phone, tablet or smart speaker...

Kfm Kildare Weather

  • Sun

    Sunny intervals


  • Mon

    Light rain


  • Tue

    Sunny intervals


  • Wed

    Sunny intervals