On Air Now

The Eleven to Two Show

11:00am - 2:00pm

  • 045 901 490
  • 0833 979797

Now Playing

The Script

The Man Who Cant Be Moved

The Kildare Pride In Your Place Awards Have Taken Place.

Image: KCC logo

Over 20 awards have been bestowed.

The County Kildare Pride in Your Place Competition awards have been bestowed.

The ceremony took place at the Westgrove Hotel, Clane.


This is the twenty-sixth year of the competition for local authority and approved housing body estates.

Prizes were awarded for best kept gardens, estate maintenance and community development.

This year there were 52 entries representing over 30 estates.

This is the eighteenth year of the County Council’s special awards scheme for young people who make an outstanding contribution to community life.  

7 young people were recognised for their contributions in making their communities great places to live.


Full list of prize-winners

Category 1 (1-20 Houses)

Winner: Millview, Milltown

Category 2 (21-40 Houses)

3rd Place: Mooretown Drive, Rathcoffey

Runner up: Ottomy Crescent & Grove, Clane

Winner: Wheatfield Upper, Ardclough

Category 3 (41-60 Houses)

3rd place: St Brigids Terrace, Sallins

Runner up: St Dominicks Park, Newbridge

Winner: Sarto Park, Naas

Category 4 (61 – 85 houses)

Runner up: St Patricks Park, Kill

Winner: Coarsemoor, Lodge Park & St Brigids Terrace, Straffan

Category 5 (86 + houses)

3rd Place: Ballymakealy, Celbridge

Runner up: Avondale, Lexlip

Winner: Ardrew, Athy

Community Development Category

Runner up: William Pearse Terrace, Castledermott

Winner: Ashgrove, Derrinturn

Most Improved Estate

Runner up: Loughnamona, Lexlip

Winner: Dara Park, Newbridge

Best new residents’ association

Winner: Malone Place, Athy

Best Kept Garden 2021

Winner: Joe & Nelly Egan, St Patricks Park

Youth Endeavour Awards 2021

Caitlyn McGannon, nominated by Time to Sign

Sofia Halayko, nominated by Comhar Housing

David Halayko, nominated by Comhar Housing

Shannon Ransome, nominated by Monasterevin Youth Action

Leah Behan, nominated by Kildare Town Youth Project

Keeva Buggle, nominated by Wheatfield Residents Association

Millie Ryan, nominated by Bishopsland Awareness Committee

Kelsey O’Keefe, nominated by Dunmurray Residents Association

Special Awards

Covid Hero Award 2021

Winner: Kathleen McEvoy & Karen Leavy of Bishopsland Awareness Committee for creating the Bishopsland food bank as a COVID-19 response and delivering weekly food parcels to residents in their own estate.  Kathleen and Karen are tireless volunteers and advocates in this community.

Years of Service in the Community Award 2021

Winner: John O’Brien, William Pearse Terrace Residents Association, Castledermott for chairing this group for ten years and working within his own community to deliver amenities such as community allotments.

More from Local News

Stay tuned to Kfm!

Get the Kfm Apps for you phone, tablet or smart speaker...

Kfm Kildare Weather

  • Thu

    Heavy Rain


  • Fri

    Sunny intervals


  • Sat

    Heavy Rain


  • Sun

    Sunny intervals


  • Mon

    Heavy Rain